Mike Martin

Mike Martin

Election 2014: Trail votes for Martin and new library/museum

Mike Martin wins mayoral race and three new faces join council

Trail voters approved a new museum/library and selected Mike Martin as the mayor to lead them into the next phase for the city.

Preliminary results released at the closing of Saturday’s polls showed Martin’s 1,725 votes was well ahead of Doug Jones, (891 votes), Ian McLeod, (116 votes), and Roger Catalano, (51 votes), in the race to replace out-going mayor Dieter Bogs at Trail City Hall.

“I am absolutely ecstatic and truly honoured to be the next mayor of Trail,” Martin told the Trail Times just after the result were announced, adding that he believes it was his focus on economic growth that got him the votes.

“I ran on a platform of growth, vitality and pride,” he said. “The underpinning of that is the whole matter of economic development which I have talked about extensively. The other thing, is that I think I have done a good job preparing myself for this role, not only with my business background, but by working tirelessly in the community for the last three years on economic development initiatives.”

Martin’s new council will also see some changes.

Incumbents Kevin Jolly (1,871 votes), Robert Cacchioni (1,482 votes) and Eleanor Gattafoni-Robinson (1,294 votes), will return with a trio of new faces featuring Lisa Pasin, who garnered the most votes of all candidates with 2,233.

She’ll be joined on council by former Trail mayor Sandy Santori (1,322 votes) and Carol Dobie (1,135 votes) who grabbed the final seat on council.

Their arrival means the departure of incumbents Rick Georgetti (1,035 votes) and Sean Mackinlay (795 votes). Also falling short were Donal Park (1,021 votes) and Fred Romano (977 votes).

The city enjoyed a heavy voter turnout with 49 per cent of the estimated voting population of 5,623 casting a ballot.

That was up significantly from 31 per cent in 2011.

Also at stake was the referendum on a new museum/library with the “Yes” side collecting 1,625 votes against 1,033 for the “No” side.

There will also be a new Trail face on the School District 20 board. Incumbent Mark Wilson returned with 1,499 votes and newcomer Terry Hanik topped all candidates with 1,516 votes. Longtime board member Lorraine Manning will not return after finishing with 1,277 votes.