Mayoral races abound in Greater Trail

With the entry Friday deadline passed, the municipal election roster is complete.

With more candidates than seats now confirmed, Greater Trail voters will definitely have a say who governs their communities for the next four years.

Friday marked the deadline for potential new leaders to cast their names into civic politics for the Nov. 15 municipal election.

Trail has four mayoral candidates to consider after Roger Catalano and Ian McLeod filed papers by Friday’s deadline to join Doug Jones and Mike Martin in the running.

Silver City council could also see a shake up with three newcomers, a former mayor, and one past councillor signing on for one of six spots beside the five incumbents.

Donal Park, Carol Dobie, Lisa Pasin, Sandy Santori, and Fred Romano are candidates as are current councillors Robert Cacchioni, Kevin Jolly, Sean Mackinlay, Eleanor Gattafoni Robinson and Rick Georgetti.

Warfield’s 1,400 registered electors will be going to the voting stations for the first time in six years with three people seeking the mayor’s job and six in the race for a seat on the village’s four-member council.

First time candidate Ted Pahl joined the mayoral race last week and will run against past mayors Bill Trewhella and Jim Nelson.

Shane Ferraro and Diane Langman are new to the political arena and will run alongside former councillors Bill Bain and Brett Rakuson, and incumbents John Crozier and Tom Milne.

Rosslanders will see a woman mayor this time round, after current Mayor Greg Granstrom pulled out of the race and filed for a position on council Friday afternoon. Now, Coun. Jill Spearn has signed up for the top spot against Coun. Kathy Moore.

Spearn and Moore were voted in as councillors in 2011, though Granstrom’s second term as Golden City mayor was by acclamation.

Fruitvale will also have a woman mayor for another four years with Mayor Patricia Cecchini retaining her position by acclamation.

But villagers will still have an opportunity to vote after three first time candidates, James Ellison, Steve Morisette and Mark Schmutz joined the race for one of four seats on council beside incumbents Tabatha Webber and Bert Kniss.

In the previous election, both Kniss and Webber won their seats by acclamation.

Montrose voters will certainly see at least one new face on council.

Seven names, four with no previous experience, will be on the ballot and a past mayor is running against incumbent Joe Danchuk.

Danchuk beat former Montrose mayor Griff Welsh by 47 votes in the 2011 civic election, and once again the two are vying to lead the four-member council.

Political newcomers Lynda Bouthillier, Brittanie Irwin, Mark Reid and Rory Steep are in the running beside former Montrose councillor Royce Schmidt and incumbents Cindy Cook and Mary Gay.

Cook and Gay won their seats by acclamation in 2011, along with longtime Coun. Don Berriault and Coun. Don Duclos.

Interest in local government has been sparked in Salmo because 12 people have filed papers to sit on the village’s four-member council.

Incumbents Merle Hanson, Janine Haughton, and Bob Vliet have been joined by nine first time candidates, Ken Anderson, Dan Danforth, Steve Dimock, Jonathon Heatlie, Dan Isaacs, Dian Lockwood, Jim Mulally, Cathy Paton and Curtis Richens.

Additionally, three candidates Henry Huser, Dennis McLean and Stephen White have thrown their name into the ring for the first time, in a bid to serve as Salmo’s mayor.

During the Nov. 15 election, Trail voters will be asked to choose one of three candidates to represent the city on School District 20’s board of education.

Terry Hanik is seeking one of two seats against incumbents Mark Wilson and Lorraine Manning. Hanik sought the trustee in the last election, but lost to Manning by 26 votes and to Wilson by 150 votes.

Toni Driutti, trustee for Warfield and parts of Area B and Area J in the regional district will retain her position by acclamation as will Rossland’s Gord Smith.

Within the regional district, Ali Grieve, director for Area A and Area B’s Director Linda Worley have both retained their positions by acclamation. This is Worley’s second term holding the position by acclamation, and Grieve won her director’s position by a landslide in the 2011 election.