Municipal Elections – Nomination period opens today

The starting pistol fired today for the 2011 B.C. municipal elections.

  • Oct. 4, 2011 10:00 a.m.

The starting pistol fired today for the 2011 B.C. municipal elections.

Municipal offices have already been handing out nomination packages to residents since early September and the nomination period runs until Oct.  14.

There has been some early interest in Montrose and Rossland with several packages handed out.

While the mayors in Fruitvale and Warfield have announced that they’re stepping down, the mayors in Montrose, Rossland and Fruitvale intend to run for re-election.

As for the rest of the entries, which includes councillors and school trustees, the final field of candidates won’t be determined until the nomination period closes and packages are returned to the appropriate elections officer.

“Nothing is official until those packages come back,” says Rossland’s Corporate Officer Tracey Butler.

During the nomination window, interested candidates are required to complete the necessary paperwork to be eligible for the election.

The package includes declaration of candidate, official agent and reporting forms. A candidate also needs to be nominated by two people.

“Fill everything out, and when they bring it back we’ll go through it to make sure everything is filled out properly,” said Allana Ferro chief elections officer for Warfield.

Along with the nomination package an election guide is provided.

“It just gives everyone the details about what is involved. It talks about time commitments and the terms of office if they are elected,” added Ferro.

There are plenty of spots at stake in the upcoming election.

Trail’s council features one mayor and six councillors. In Rossland one mayor’s position as well as six councillors.

The Village of Fruitvale will elect a new mayor as well as four councillors. As well, a new mayor will be elected in Warfield along with four councillors. Montrose council also features one mayor and four councillors.

The Regional District of Kootenay Boundary has five electoral areas including the local ones Area A and Area B. Those two areas have one director’s spot available.

Six school trustee positions will also be up for election covering Trail (two positions), Rossland (one position), Warfield, which includes part of the RDKB’s Area B and Area J, (one position) and Fruitvale, which also includes Montrose and Area B, (two positions).

The municipal election is set for Nov. 19. Advanced voting will be available Nov. 9 and Nov. 16.

For more information on the election process visit you local municipal office.

Just Posted

Area A Director Ali Grieve (right), Village of Fruitvale Mayor Steve Morissette (front), and Village of Montrose Mayor Mike Walsh (left) held a congratulatory ceremony for Beaver Valley students who are part of the Class of 2021 graduates of J. L. Crowe Secondary at Beaver Creek Park on Thursday. Photo: Jim Bailey
Beaver Valley Grads of 2021

Beaver Valley mayors, RDKB Area A director celebrate their 2021 graduates with gift ceremony

Adrian Moyls is the Selkirk College Class of 2021 valedictorian and graduate of the School of Health and Human Services. Photo: Submitted
Selkirk College valedictorian proves mettle in accomplishment

Adrian Moyls is a graduate of the School of Health and Human Services

Selkirk College has begun its search in earnest for a leader to replace president Angus Graeme who is set to retire from his position in May 2022. Photo: Submitted
Selkirk College seeks community input for president search

Current president Angus Graeme retires next year

A report shows nine West Kootenay communities are have more low-income persons than the provincial average. File photo
Study casts new light on poverty in the West Kootenay

Nine communities in region have more low-income residents than provincial average

A tent housing a mobile vaccination clinic. (Interior Health/Contributed)
Over 5K jabbed at Interior Health mobile COVID-19 vaccine clinics

The clinics have made stops in more than 40 communities since launching last week

A small pod of Pacific white-sided dolphins pass by close to shore in Campbell River June 16, 2021. Still capture from video courtesy of Kimberly Hart
VIDEO: Dolphin sunset captured from Vancouver Island shore

Spectacular setting for view of travelling pod of Pacific white-sided dolphins

New research suggests wolves can be steered away from the endangered caribou herds they prey on by making the man-made trails they use to hunt harder to move along. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Nathan Denette
Culling cutlines, not B.C. wolves, key to preserving caribou herds: researcher

The government has turned to killing hundreds of wolves in an effort to keep caribou around

Gary Abbott (left) and Louis De Jaeger were two of the organizers for the 2014 Spirit of the People Powwow in Chilliwack. Monday, June 21, 2021 is Indigenous Peoples Day. (Jenna Hauck/ Chilliwack Progress file)
Unofficial holidays: Here’s what people are celebrating for the week of June 20 to 26

Indigenous Peoples Day, Take Your Dog to Work Day, Onion Rings Day all coming up this week

Gwen Spencer Hethey with her uncle and mentor Major Frederick Richardson. (Courtesy of Greater Victoria Sports Hall of Fame)
‘She was a killer’: The B.C. woman who pioneered female sharpshooting

Gwen Spencer Hethey made military men ‘look like turkeys’ says her son

Central Okanagan Grade 12 grads are set to get $500 each after a more than $1 million donation from a Kelowna couple. (File photo)
B.C. couple donating $500 to every Grade 12 student in the Okanagan

Anonymous donors identified as Kelowna entrepreneurs Lance and Tammy Torgerson

Rita Coolidge played the main stage at Vancouver Island Musicfest in 2017. (Black Press file photo)
This year’s Vancouver Island MusicFest to virtually showcase beauty of Comox Valley

Returning July 9 through 11 with more than 25 hours of music performances

British Columbia’s premier says he’s received a second dose of the Oxford-AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine. (Twitter/John Horgan)
B.C. premier gets 2nd dose of AstraZeneca COVID-19 vaccine

John Horgan shared a photo of himself on social media Friday afternoon holding a completed vaccination card

A lotto Max ticket is shown in Toronto on Monday Feb. 26, 2018.THE CANADIAN PRESS
No winning ticket sold for Friday’s $70 million Lotto Max jackpot

The huge jackpot has remained unclaimed for several weeks now

Most Read