BVMHA remains focused on kids

As members of the BVMHA (Beaver Valley Minor Hockey Association) executive, we would like to thank RTMHA (Rossland/Trail Minor Hockey Association) and its members for their overwhelming support to amalgamate with BVMHA.

It is greatly appreciated and a testament to the members of the Joint RTMHA and BVMHA Futures Committees – Shawn Brandt, Mary deVos, Larry Doskoch (chair), Dave Mandoli, Murray McConnachie, Brian Moroney, Don Park, Jim Swanson and Keith Wallace – and all those individuals that worked tirelessly on this process.

As we all know, BVMHA was not successful in achieving the 75 percent required. However, with the majority of the association voting in favour of amalgamation, we feel this is a positive step in the right direction. This past season’s combining of the rep teams due to NTIC was hugely successful and an example of how, working together, we can achieve great things for our kids. Players were given opportunities that would not have been available to them otherwise.

Events of this magnitude have a tendency to stir up a lot of emotion. While we are all entitled to our own feelings, we really need to maintain focus on the reason this whole process was put into motion: the kids. Decisions beyond their control were made which will impact them, potentially, for the rest of their minor hockey career.

Now is the time to take a step back and have a clear understanding of the ramifications our decisions have, not only on our own children, but every child involved in minor hockey in this area.

As members of the BVMHA board we are committed to working in the best interests of the children.

Too often our own beliefs cloud our judgment and we need to remind ourselves that kids do not care about the colours of their jerseys or the name of their association, they just want to play hockey. We, the voting members of these associations, need to look to the future and ensure every child has that opportunity.

Again, thank you for your support and we look forward to working with Rossland-Trail Minor Hockey Association this coming season.

Marlo Caputo, Don Park, Dara Waterstreet, David Mandoli, Leslie Mozack, Mike Mason, Lisa Cabana, Jacob Swanson, Jim Swanson

Members of the BVMHA Executive

Just Posted

The Fruitvale community garden is located on Beaver Street across from the municipal office. Photo: Submitted
Harvest Central Community Garden opens in Fruitvale

A growing opportunity for all Beaver Valley residents, from kindergarten and upwards

TELUS is proposing to construct a 5G tower at Pople Park. Photo: Sheri Regnier
First 5G tower in Trail proposed for placement in popular park

TELUS has a consultation process open until June 28

The Kootenay International Junior Hockey League met for their AGM and announced a number of new initiatives, new awards and changes in their executive committee, as well as the starting date for the 2021-22 season. Paul Rodgers file.
KIJHL announces start dates for 2021-22 season

Season set to begin Oct. 1 with league still following all health guidelines

South Slocan’s Ti Loran is among the recipients of this year’s Neil Muth Memorial Scholarship. Photo: Submitted
Neil Muth Memorial Scholarships awarded to 4 students

Students in Creston, South Slocan and Revelstoke are sharing the honour

The Independent Investigations Office of BC is looking into a Castlegar incident. File photo
Police watchdog investigating Castlegar incident

IIO: Woman sustained a reportedly self-inflicted injury

Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau participates in a plenary session at the G7 Summit in Carbis Bay, England on Friday June 11, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Adrian Wyld
Canada donating 13M surplus COVID-19 vaccine doses to poor countries

Trudeau says the government will pay for 87 million shots to be distributed to poor countries

Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price (31) is scored on by Vegas Golden Knights defenseman Alec Martinez, not pictured, during the second period in Game 1 of an NHL hockey Stanley Cup semifinal playoff series Monday, June 14, 2021, in Las Vegas. (AP Photo/John Locher)
Habs fall 4-1 to Vegas Golden Knights in Game 1 of NHL semifinal series

Match was Montreal’s first game outside of Canada in 2021

Kelowna-Lake Country MLA Norm Letnick, assistant deputy speaker at the B.C. legislature, presides over committee discussions. The legislature is completing its delayed spring session this week, with most MLAs participating by video conference. (Hansard TV)
B.C.’s daily COVID-19 infections dip below 100 over weekend

Only 68 new cases recorded Monday, four additional deaths

B.C. ambulance station in Revelstoke is expected to get a new system called the Scheduled On-Call (SOC) this fall. (Liam Harrap - Revelstoke Review)
B.C. ambulance changes could put Revelstoke residents at risk, warn local paramedics

Paramedics said to expect a substantial increase in ambulance response time starting this fall

The BC Ferries website went down for a short while Monday morning following a provincial announcement that recreational travel between health authorities can resume Tuesday. (Black Press Media file photo)
BC Ferries’ website crashes in wake of provincial reopening announcement

Website back up now, recreational travel between health regions to resume as of Tuesday

The Kamloops Indian Residential School is photographed using a drone in Kamloops, B.C., Monday, June, 14, 2021. The remains of 215 children were discovered buried near the former school earlier this month. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Communities grapple with what to do with former residential and day schools

Some tear them down as a tool to help healing, others repurpose them as tools for moving forward

FILE – Provincial health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry talks about B.C.’s plan to restart the province during a press conference at Legislature in Victoria, Tuesday, May 25, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Chad Hipolito
B.C. watching U.K.’s COVID struggles but don’t think province will see similar pitfalls

Studies show that one dose of vaccine is only 33 per cent effective in preventing B.1.617.2 spread

RCMP Const. Shelby Patton is shown in this undated handout photo. RCMP say that Patton was hit by an allegedly stolen truck that he had pulled over on Saturday morning in Wolseley, east of Regina. THE CANADIAN PRESS/HO, RCMP
Pair charged in Saskatchewan Mountie’s death make first court appearance

Const. Shelby Patton was hit by an allegedly stolen truck that he had pulled over Saturday morning

David and Collet Stephan leave for a break during an appeal hearing in Calgary on Thursday, March 9, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Todd Korol
Appeal Court rejects stay for Alberta couple facing third trial in son’s death

Pair accused in their earlier trials of not seeking medical attention for their son sooner

Most Read