BCIHL: Selkirk Saints reap awards

Saints captain Logan Proulx was a co-winner of the BCIHL’s Most Valuable Player award.

The Selkirk College Men’s Hockey team was well-represented on Tuesday when the B.C. Intercollegiate Hockey League announced the recipients of individual League Awards as well as First and Second All-Star teams for the 2013/14 regular season.

Saints captain Logan Proulx was a co-winner of the BCIHL’s Most Valuable Player award, sharing the honour with Trinity Western University forward J.P. Villeneuve. Proulx, a Trail native, led Selkirk to their second straight  BCIHL regular season title, was the team’s points leader with 42, and set a new BCIHL league record with a 22-game point streak that stretched from Oct. 4 to Feb. 22.

Netminder Chris Hurry was also honoured for his strong play, earning the league’s Top Goaltender award. Hurry won a BCIHL-high 14 regular season games between the pipes and posted league-bests in goals-against average, 1.87, save-percentage, .925, and shutouts, 3.

Saints head coach Jeff Dubois was the team’s third award winner, splitting BCIHL Coach of the Year honours with Trinity Western University’s Barret Kropf. Under Dubois, Selkirk finished with a league-best 20-3-1 record that included a 12-0-1 record over the final 13 games of the regular season.

“Logan and Chris both had outstanding seasons and it’s very gratifying to see their accomplishments recognized by coaches around our league,” says Dubois. “Logan has been a tremendous leader for our program and a driving force behind our on-ice success. When you combine those characteristics with his offensive output and his work on the penalty kill, it’s tough to identify anybody in our league who makes a more substantial impact in all facets of the game and plays at such a high level night in, night out.”

“For Chris, this honour really is a validation of just how far he’s come as an athlete since he joined our program two seasons ago. He’s shown an incredible commitment to developing his game and put in a tremendous amount of time with Alex Evin (NL Goal) to work on his technique. Chris was a rock for us all season and gave us huge games whenever we needed them.”

In addition to the Saints’ individual award winners, a total of six players were named to BCIHL All-Star teams. Proulx and Hurry were joined on the league’s First Team by defenceman Stefan Gonzales, who was a standout at both ends of the rink in his rookie season. Forwards Cody Fidgett and Connor McLaughlin, who tied for the BCIHL lead in goals with 22, were both named Second Team all-stars along with blueliner Tanner Lenting, who led the league in assists by a defenceman with 17.

The Selkirk Saints host Trinity Western University this weekend for the best-of-three BCIHL championship. Games 1 and 2 go Friday and Saturday at 7:30 p.m. at the Castlegar Rec Complex, while Game 3 will go Sunday at 6 p.m. if necessary.