Jones twins early-award nominees

Montrose twins Connor and Kellen Jones are in the early running for the most prestigious award in Division 1 NCAA college hockey.

Montrose twins Connor and Kellen Jones are in the early running for the most prestigious award in Division 1 NCAA college hockey.

The 23-year-old brothers play for the Quinnipiac Bobcats of the Eastern Collegiate Athletics Conference and were recently nominated for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award given to the top player in NCAA men’s hockey.

The twins are included along with 66 other nominees on the Hobey Baker Award website where fans are encouraged to vote for their favourite player, allowing one vote per day, until the selection committee narrows it down to the top 10.

The Joneses have played alongside each other their whole lives and carried the Bobcats to a berth in the NCAA championship game last season, as well as winning a pair of RBC Cups with the BCHL’s Vernon Vipers in 2009 and 2010.

This season both Connor and Kellen were the fifth pair of brothers in NCAA history to reach the 100-point mark in their university hockey careers, and were featured in Sports Illustrated’s “Faces in the Crowd” for reaching the elusive mark.

The twins are second and third in Bobcats team scoring, Connor has seven goals and 16 assists this season, while Kellen has posted a 13-16-29 in 25 games good for 12th in the nation.

While fan voting will be an element of the selectin process, the final decision will not be based on voting alone. The highest consideration by the Hobey Baker Memorial Award selection committee goes to performance both on and off the ice, academic excellence, and a strong character.

The fan voting is one of the initial stages of the three-step process. First, the head coaches of NCAA Div. I schools nominate the top three players in their league and the top three players in the nation. College hockey fans can also vote online at this time—and fan voting can be an important factor in the balloting outcome. Price Waterhouse Coopers tabulates the votes and the top 10 candidates are announced.

Voting then begins to weed wwthe top-10 down to the final three players. The primary voting in this part of the process is by the selection committee, a geographically balanced group of 27 individuals representing print and electronic sports media, college hockey coaches and officials, and NHL scouts. Fans may also vote online for their favorite candidate during this phase of the process.

After the three finalists, aka the “Hobey Hat Trick”, are announced, the countdown begins toward the crowning of the award winner in a nationally televised ceremony.

Go online to vote for Connor or Kellen or both at

Just Posted

Actsafe BC brings expertise, new lighting to Trail theatre

Consultants are all technical directors in Vancouver theatres with years of experience in the field

Hospital improvements good news for entire region, says Trail mayor

West Kootenay-Boundary Regional Hospital District Board will review the matter next month

Life insurance can be a business expense

Tax Tips & Pits with Ron Clarke, Trail Times columnist

BC senior curling championship slides into Trail

The Trail Curling Association hosts 16 men’s and women’s teams in the senior provincial championship

Snoopy shows up in snowy Silver City

What You See: If you have a recent photo to share email (large size please) to

‘Our entire municipality is heartbroken’: Seven children die in Halifax house fire

A man and woman remained in hospital Tuesday afternoon, the man with life-threatening injuries

B.C. man sues Maxime Bernier’s People’s Party over trademark

Satinder Dhillon filed application for trademark same day Maxime Bernier announced the new party

New trial ordered over banning whales, dolphins at Vancouver aquarium

Park board’s appeal reverses previous decision that found it had no right to implement a ban

Minister says plans to fight poverty, climate change, focus of B.C. budget

The NDP said in its throne speech last week that affordability will be the hallmark of its initiatives

Make sure measles shots up to date, Public Health Agency says

Measles causes high fever, coughing, sneezing and a widespread painful rash

Bomb threats, gunfire, kidnapping: Drug war rocks Kamloops

Kamloops RCMP battles a series of violent events

B.C. hotel trashes Channing Tatum in favour of Ryan Reynolds

Tatum’s picture left in recycling bin, replaced with photo of Ryan Reynolds

B.C. firefighters rescue bear cub stuck up a tree

Family Day was eventful for cub, firefighters

Payless to close 248 Canadian stores, saying it’s ‘ill-equipped’ for market

The company will begin closing stores at the end of March

Most Read