Men’s provincial curling playdowns: Perepolkin takes down Bilesky

Trail curlers back-to-back wins keep them near the top at B.C.s

The Perepolkin rink did not fair well in the opening draw of the B.C. Men’s Curling Championship in Vancouver, but bounced back with two huge victories Wednesday night and Thursday.

With Trevor Perepolkin of Vernon as skip, Castlegar’s Deane Horning as third, Tyler Orme of Armstrong second, Trail’s Don Freschi as lead, Kevin Nesbitt fifth and Terry Bublitz as coach, the team  fell to the Jason Montgomery foursome from Duncan in its opening draw, but rebounded with an 8-5 win over Victoria’s Chris Baier, and an impressive 6-5 victory over defending champion Andrew Bilesky from Royal City.

Perepolkin actually led Montgomery 2-1 after seven ends, but disaster struck as the Duncan rink scored five in the eighth, and stole another in the ninth to seal a 7-2 win.

Dropping to the B-Event, Perepolkin then faced Baier Wednesday night, and jumped out into a 5-2 lead after scoring three in the fifth. However, Baier battled back with one in the seventh and two in the ninth to cut the lead to 6-5, but a deuce in the final end secured the win for Perepolkin.

Bilesky would prove even more of a challenge for the heavily-laden Kootenay squad Thursday morning.  The two teams traded deuces for the first three ends, with Perepolkin taking a 5-2 lead after a steal of one in the fifth. However, Bilesky would claw his way back to within one with a steal in the ninth, but Perepolkin holding hammer would run Bilesky out of rocks to take the 6-5 victory.

The Tom Buchy rink from Kimberley meanwhile also dropped their opening games losing 10-4 to Victoria’s Neil Dangerfield, before beating Bill Cameron’s foursome from Prince George by an identical score.

With a 2-1 record, Perepolkin sits in second place behind the John Morris rink and the Neil Dangerfield foursome each perfect at 3-0. The local squad played the 2009 B.C. champion Brent Pierce rink Thursday night but scores were unavailable at presstime.