Trail All Stars drop opening matches at BC championship

Trail fell to White Rock and Little Mountain in its first two games of the Provincial Championships.

The Trail All Stars had a tough start to the B.C. Little League Major Championship in Victoria this week, dropping a pair of games to White Rock and Little Mountain.

The District 8 All Stars faced Little Mountain on Monday at noon with Connor Stainer getting the start for Trail. The District 1 team got on the board first scoring on a Ben Black single in the opening inning, and went up 3-0 after Ryan Derbawka pounded a two-run shot in the top of the third inning.

The All Stars countered in the bottom half of the inning when Tyler O’Keefe and Landan Uzeloc led off with singles. Derbawka came on in relief for Little Mountain and got two straight outs, but Koa Wintraub stepped up and singled to right to cash in the two runners and cut the lead to 3-2.

Following a scoreless fourth inning, Little Mountain added two more in the top of five to restore the three-run lead. Trail threatened in the bottom of five with Wintraub and Stainer hitting back-to-back singles with one out, but an inning-ending double play snuffed out the rally. Little Mountain added a homer by Markus Yim in the top of six to round out the scoring as Trail’s comeback attempt failed in the bottom of six.

On Saturday, Trail fell 9-2 to perennial powerhouse White Rock. A slow start found the local All Stars behind 5-0 after two innings. Trail got on the board in the third and knocked in another in the fourth to cut the lead to 7-2, but the White Rock pitching was all but unhittable allowing just two hits throughout the match.

White Rock sits on top the standings at 2-0 following a 14-4 drubbing of New Westminster on Sunday, while Little Mountain is 2-1 following the win over the All Stars. Trail had a bye Sunday and play Highlands today at noon.

Hastings Community Little League won the provincial and Canadian title in 2016. Whalley Little League from Surrey and Trail Little League lead the way with five Canadian championships each, but the last time a Trail team won a provincial title is 1990.

Teams from B.C. have represented Canada 25 times in Williamsport, and every year since 2005, except for 2013, when East Nepean from Ottawa was the national champion.

Just Posted

Senior curling provincials setting up for exciting finish

Standings tight as Senior curling teams push for provincial playoffs

Rescued snowmobilers ill-prepared for emergency, Castlegar RCMP say

Two men rescued Wednesday night were not ready for overnight in back country

Police share more details on occupants and suspicious van in Fruitvale

Vehicle in question offered young girl a ride to school on Feb. 19

B.C. Interior free from measles

Vancouver measles outbreak hasn’t spread to the B.C. Interior

Parity prevails at BC Senior Curling championship

Teams go toe-to-toe in second Draw at the BC Senior Curling Championship

Sell regulated heroin to curb B.C.’s overdose problem: report

B.C. Centre on Substance Use points to organized crime and money-laundering as contributing factors

B.C. legislature moving suspended staff controversy to outside review

Whale watching, Seattle Mariners trips billed as emergency preparedness, Speaker Darryl Plecas says

More people signing up for compulsory vaccines

Maple Ridge mom says public tired of hearing about measles

UPDATE: Man charged in stabbing of woman, off-duty cop outside B.C. elementary school

Manoj George, 49, is facing two counts of aggravated assault and two counts of assault with a weapon after the incident on Wednesday, Feb. 20.

Why do zebras have stripes? Perhaps to dazzle away flies

Researchers from University of Bristol look into why zebras have stripes

Poll: More voters believe Canada doing worse under Trudeau government

22 per cent believed the country is doing better and 27 per cent said things are the same

HBC shuttering Home Outfitters across Canada

North America’s oldest retailer is revamping its various stores to improve profitability

BC SPCA investigates Okanagan woman with prior animal abuse convictions

BC SPCA is investigating a property near Vernon

Man wanted for sex trafficking, confinement may be heading to B.C.

Kevin Myrthil, 26, is also accused of assault on a 19-year-old woman at an Edmonton hotel

Most Read