Trail’s Johnson, Terness win BCHL Awards

Smokies’ Johnson honoured with the MVP and Most Sportsmanlike, Terness earns Rookie of the Year

Kent Johnson

The awards and accolades continued to roll in for the Trail Smoke Eaters players on Wednesday.

The BCHL announced that Kent Johnson was named the league’s Most Valuable Player, earning the Vern Dye Memorial Trophy, along with the Bob Fenton Trophy for Most Sportsmanlike.

Not to be outdone, Smokies goalie Logan Terness won the BCHL Rookie of the Year Award for his stellar play between the pipes this year.

Related read: Smoke Eaters foursome named to All Star Teams

Johnson beat out Coquitlam standout goaltender Clay Stevenson and Cowichan defenceman Dimitri Mikrogiannakis for the title of MVP. With 41 goals and 60 assists this season, the 17-year-old from Port Moody led the league in almost every scoring category, including goals, assists, power-play goals and power-play assists.

He was also 30 points ahead of the next closest player and has led the league in scoring consistently since early November. Johnson is the first Smoke Eater to win the league MVP since the league started giving the award to only one recipient. Smoke Eater alumni Brent Baltus won the award in 2013 alongside co-winner Mitch Gillam of the Chilliwack Chiefs.

Johnson joins an illustrious list of previous winners that includes current NHLers Tyson Jost and Kyle Turris along with NHL alumni Brett Hull, Ray Ferraro, Paul Kariya and current Smoke Eaters head coach Jeff Tambellini.

Along with the league MVP award Johnson was also named the recipient of the Bob Fenton Trophy as the leagues Most Sportsmanlike Player. In 52 games, Johnson totaled just 14 penalty minutes while averaging some of the highest time on ice in the league. Johnson joins Kyle Jones, the 2003 recipient, as the only Smoke Eater to win this award.

Terness’ Rookie of the Year nod comes as a result of his 27 wins in 44 games, which tied the Smoke Eaters single season wins record this year while putting up the top-5 numbers in the league. The Burnaby native finished second in games played, third in wins and in save percentage at 0.932. He finished with the fourth best goals against average at 2.36 and finished with the most saves of all goaltenders with more than 1300 shots stopped this season.

Terness joins Smoke Eaters alumni Justin St. Louis (2004) and Craig Clare (1998) as Rookie of the Year recipients. Terness is the first Smoke Eater goaltender to win this award and the first goalie in 20 years, with Sean Fields of the Penticton Panthers organization winning it in 1999-2000.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here


Logan Terness

Just Posted

Don’t travel to vacation homes or cabins, urges Kootenay Boundary district

Regional District of Kootenay Boundary asks residents not to travel to secondary homes

Multiple items on agenda at upcoming City of Rossland council meeting

New city hall and changes to property taxes some items on April 6 agenda

COVID-19 Business Support; Wage Subsidy

Wage Subsidy: A Dual System

Vandalism has Trail businesses seeking immediate action

Business community is asking for better security measures amid pandemic

‘An extra $220 every 90 days’: B.C. patients pay more dispensing fees due to prescription limits

Kelowna woman says it’s outrageous to charge for refills every 30 days

Here’s how to talk to people who aren’t taking physical distancing seriously

Approach the conversation with empathy says conflict expert

B.C. clears more acute hospital beds as COVID-19 case growth slows

Province holding about 40% of beds empty for peak still to come

As 500K+ apply for emergency benefit, Trudeau says aid coming for Canadians left behind

Canada Emergency Response Benefit provides $2,000 per month

Wearing non-medical masks can stop spread of COVID-19 before symptoms start: Tam

Health officials had previously not recommended wearing them

UPDATE: UK PM Boris Johnson moved to intensive care after COVID-19 symptoms worse

He has been quarantined in his Downing St. residence since being diagnosed with COVID-19 on March 26

Travellers, travel agents ‘in agony’ over refund policies and customer service

Many Canadian carriers are offering customers flights rebookings or travel vouchers — but not refunds

Introverted and extroverted kids likely to react differently to COVID-19 restrictions

B.C. child psychologist says your parenting approach can’t be one-size fits all in social isolation

B.C. begins taking submissions for $2M COVID-19 research fund

Rural health, impact of shifting hospital resources among priorities

Most Read