Ted Pahl

Election 2014: Warfield voters opt for new faces

Ted Pahl wins Warfield mayoral race, Ferraro, Langman, Rakuson, Milne

  • Nov. 15, 2014 2:00 p.m.

Warfield voters opted for change Saturday as three candidates with no previous political experience garnered the most votes.

Preliminary results showed Ted Pahl selected as mayor with 469 votes over Bill Trewella (123 votes) and Jim Nelson (81 votes).

“My first thought was that it was a clear message from the voters,” Pahl told the Trail Times shortly after the results were announced.

“People are ready for a change.”

He tipped his hat to the other two mayoral candidates, who have both served the village in the past.

“I have a lot of respect for both Bill and Jim. They’ve both done a ton for this community.”

The village council will have three new faces including two rookies to the political arena. Newcomers Diane Langman (524 votes) and Shane Ferraro (455 votes) will be joined by Brett Rakuson (401 votes) and incumbent Tom Milne (302 votes) to complete the four-person council.

The other two council candidates were Bill Bain (293 votes) and incumbent John Crozier (273 votes) fell shy of their goal.

Just Posted

Mounties warn about open liquor at Rossland Carnival

They’ll be out there watching for illegal drinking

The Trail Smoke Eaters win in a shootout over Wenatchee Wild

The Trail Smoke Eaters split its two-game series against the Wenatchee Wild on weekend

River rising in Trail

For up-to-date reservoir elevation and river flow information, visit BC Hydro’s website bchydro.com

Former ski champ and MLA’s son hope to open Castlegar cannabis store next month

Felix Belczyk and Ben Conroy are in the approval process for local Spiritleaf outlet

Victorian-era magnate, con artist had Rossland connections

New book explores fascinating history of Whitaker Wright

UPDATE: B.C. legislature managers accused of excessive travel, expenses

Speaker Darryl Plecas’ report details ‘flagrant overspending’

Anti-pipeline group wants NEB to consider impact of emissions, climate change

Stand.earth filed NEB motion asking to apply same standard to the project as it did with Energy East pipeline

B.C. man charged in 2014 snake venom death of toddler

Henry Thomas was taking care of the North Vancouver girl the day before she died

Parole granted for drunk driver who killed B.C. RCMP officer

Kenneth Jacob Fenton will be able to attend alcohol abuse treatment, nearly three years after crash that killed Const. Sarah Beckett

B.C.’s largest public-sector union wants inquiry into money laundering, drugs

Union officials say Premier John Horgan and Attorney General David Eby have not ruled out the possibility of a public inquiry

Teen in confrontation with Native American: I didn’t provoke

Nick Sandmann of Covington Catholic High School said he was trying to defuse the situation

New military armoury opens in Cranbrook

Military presence in the Key City a part of the 44th Engineer Squadron

Kamala Harris opens U.S. presidential bid in challenge to Trump

The 54-year old portrayed herself as a fighter for justice, decency and equality in a video distributed by her campaign

Woman offers luxury Alberta home for just $25 and a flair for the written word

Alla Wagner ran into health problems, which forced her to list the 5,000-square-foot estate at market value

Most Read