Skip to content

Field set for municipal election

Mayors for Rossland, Trail and Warfield already determined

While election competition heats up in some Greater Trail communities, two familiar politicians will again lead Trail and Rossland, according to Civicinfo BC.

Trail Mayor Dieter Bogs and Rossland Mayor Greg Granstrom were acclaimed mayors, after the nomination period closed Friday at 4 p.m.

“We’ve had some major ups and downs in our community and I think that we’re now reaching a time where our community is going to see some progress and some fairly significant things happening and I’d like to be part of that because many of us, not just myself, have worked hard to get to this point,” said Bogs, who will now serve as mayor for his sixth term.

Hot on the agenda, Bogs said his new council will be following up with a $45,000 study that will investigate tax impacts of including the Columbia Gardens industrial park located in Area A into city limits.

He also looks to Warfield, which has indicated it hasn’t completely tossed the potential of an amalgamation study with the city and looks forward to an economic boom that he feels is ready to erupt, pointing to ongoing employment at the Waneta dam expansion project and the upcoming opportunity generated with the $210-million No. 4 Furnace Project at Trail Operations.

“I think that we are now reaching a point where the vacancy in our area is pretty well zero and I think that developers should be and will be looking at Greater Trail for some development in terms of housing,” he added.

Trail incumbent councillors Robert Cacchioni, Gord DeRosa, Eleanor Gattafoni Robinson and Fred Romano are up against some new blood come the Nov. 19 election with John Carter, Bryan DeFerro, Ray Furlotte, Rick Georgetti, Kevin Jolly and Sean Mackinlay in it to win it.

A race in Rossland looks much similar, with Granstrom secured as mayor but a battle to earn spots on council underway between incumbent councillors Laurie Charlton, Kathy Moore, Jill Spearn, Kathy Wallace and newbies Andrew Bennett, Jody Blomme, Bob Chamut, Cary Fisher, David Klein, Tim Thatcher and Sharon Wieder.

“I think that is a very positive sign,” said Granstrom, who is ready to serve his community for a second term (not counting the term he filled in for in 2005). “One of my goals when I started this term was that I’d like to see the ballot full and the amount of councillors is very encouraging. Some very good team players, in my opinion, like I said some young people and a good mix of experience.”

The “very rewarding position” will come with challenges and debate, he suspects, including further discussion on the Columbia-Washington infrastructure renewal project.

Granstrom feels confident that keeping K-12 in the community will continue to be pushed by residents with strong voices and heard by the school board open to hearing about innovative ways to make use of the community facility.

In contrast to the cities that surround Warfield, the village has a new mayor in place and an entire council acclaimed. Former village councillor Bert Crockett is now in the big seat, opening up his old position to former Warfield Mayor Jim Nelson, who has stepped back to join incumbent councillors Donna Baggio, John Crozier and Thomas Milne.

While Area B director Linda Worley slides into another term, competition flares in Area A against incumbent director Ali Grieve and Scott Cohen.

In Montrose, incumbent Mayor Griff Welsh will be put in the spotlight with Ronald Pylypuik and former councillor Joe Danchuk while councillors Donald Berriault, Mary Gay and incumbent councillors Cindy Cook and Don Duclos settle into this term.

With long-time Fruitvale Mayor Libby Nelson stepping down from her post, the village mayor seat opens up to former village councillor Patricia Cecchini or Gary Moisson. Meanwhile incumbent councillors Larry Gray, Bert Kniss and Tabatha Webber welcome Jill Prince to their team.

On the School District 20 board, three of the nine trustee positions have been filled by acclamations. Elections are underway in Trail with Terry Hanik, Lorraine Manning and Mark Wilson vying for the two spots on School District 20's board. Meanwhile in the Beaver Valley (Fruitvale, Montrose and Area A), Dick Bilenky, Darrel Ganzert, Kim Mandoli and Vince Morelli are after the two trustee spots. Competion is also heating up in Castlegar with Jo-Ann Bursey, Jennifer Carter and Bev Maloff in the race for the two positions on the board.

For more information, visit