Andy Yoon of Abbotsford receives his first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine on Dec. 24, 2020. As of Feb. 22, 2021, Fraser Health had still not laid out a rollout plan to vaccinate people over 80. (Photo courtesy of Fraser Health)

Andy Yoon of Abbotsford receives his first dose of the COVID-19 vaccine on Dec. 24, 2020. As of Feb. 22, 2021, Fraser Health had still not laid out a rollout plan to vaccinate people over 80. (Photo courtesy of Fraser Health)

OPINION: Daughter of 97-year-old Chilliwack man is asking when her father will get vaccinated

While 94% of those over 70 in the UK have had the COVID jab, the nonagenarian from England must wait

When will 97-year-old Edmund Beagley get his vaccine?

That was the question posed to me by the Chilliwack resident’s daughter.

“Is your father in a long-term care home or facility of some kind?” I asked.

“No my father lives alone in his own home,” Mary Doherty responded from her home in Dunstable, just outside of London, England. “With no help due to the virus. He used to have paid help once a week but that stopped early 2020.

“He had his flu jab in November at Save-On-Foods. Where will he need to register?”

Um, I thought, I should know this. Shouldn’t we know by now when and where people over the age of 80 are getting their COVID-19 vaccinations?

Quite often readers or other members of the public ask me/us questions for which we have quick answers. Sometimes we don’t know the answer, but a little research lets us help them out. And if Ms. Doherty is asking a question about her nearly 100-year-old father in Chilliwack, I should be able to figure it out for her and for him.

If you have read this far looking for answers, I’m sorry. I don’t have them.

But I did ask Fraser Health.

Paul Henderson is editor of the Chilliwack Progress.

Paul Henderson is editor of the Chilliwack Progress.

“I checked into this and our planning process for mass vaccination clinics is currently underway in alignment with Phase 2 of B.C’s COVID-19 Immunization Plan,” that from a Fraser Health spokesperson last Friday. “We will have more to share about our plans in the coming weeks.”

I followed up: “I do understand that Phase 2 is set to begin in March with people over 80, but I’m hung up on the question of how do you track down all the people who live alone who are over 80? The daughter of the gentleman I’ve been communicating with says her father is 97, lives alone…. She (and he) are wondering how they will be notified?”

The response: “I checked with our team and they had no information to share with me that was finalized. I’ll let you know when I have something to share.”

Sorry Mr. Beagley, sorry Ms. Doherty, as of Feb. 22, no information to share about when you will get vaccinated.

Still none as of Feb. 24.

Throughout this week, this subject has garnered considerable media attention. The latest from public health officer Dr. Bonnie Henry on Wednesday: “We have not forgotten you. These plans are in place and we will be reaching out to you in the coming days and weeks.”

The BC Centre for Disease Control website says: “starting in mid-February, Health Authorities will reach out to seniors 80 years and older to provide information on how to pre-register for immunization appointments for phase 2 of the vaccine rollout in B.C.”

If Edmund Beagley still lived in the country where he lived for the first 57 years of his life, he would have been vaccinated weeks ago. As of Feb. 14, 94 per cent of people over the age of 70 had received their first vaccine doses in England.

“The speedy rollout of the vaccine to all vulnerable people is seen as critical to reducing the pandemic’s death toll and relieving pressure on the NHS,” the BBC reported on Feb. 18.

“Overall, around 16.5 million people have now received a first dose in the UK. More than 573,724 of those have received a second dose. This progress means the UK continues to be among the countries with the highest vaccination rates globally.”

There is no other way to put it: The vaccine rollout program across Canada is taking way too long for a wealthy nation.

“It is extremely stressful for my father as I’m sure it is for so many people,” Doherty told me. “You can probably imagine how helpless and difficult it is for us his children in the UK. The vaccination program (in England) seems to be so far ahead of Canada.”

On Feb. 8, Dr. Henry first said that people over age 80 will receive information “in the coming days and weeks.”

Yet still no details.

I know it’s complicated and I know health officials are working around the clock to arrange mass vaccination clinics. But for the most vulnerable, this has not been good enough.

Dr. Henry says people like Beagley shouldn’t feel forgotten, but he does.

“My dad emigrated to Canada 40 years ago for a better life,” Doherty told me.

“Now he feels forgotten.”

Paul Henderson is editor of the Chilliwack Progress.

Opinion

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

FILE — In this March 31, 2021 file photo, a nurse fills a syringe with a dose of the Johnson & Johnson’s one-dose COVID-19 vaccine at the Vaxmobile, at the Uniondale Hempstead Senior Center, in Uniondale, N.Y. The U.S. is recommending a “pause” in administration of the single-dose Johnson & Johnson COVID-19 vaccine to investigate reports of potentially dangerous blood clots. In a joint statement Tuesday, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Food and Drug Administration said it was investigating clots in six women in the days after vaccination, in combination with reduced platelet counts. (AP Photo/Mary Altaffer, File)
72 new COVID-19 cases in Interior Health

This brings the total number of cases in the region to 9,666 since the pandemic began

A forensic anthropologist ruled bones found by the Columbia River Skywalk to be from a bear. Photo: Chilli Charlie/Unsplash
Bones found by Trail bridge, ruled not human

A Trail man made the discovery on Friday, April 8

ANKORS commemorated those who died due to drug poisoning at International Overdose Awareness Day on Sept. 1, 2020. Photo: Tyler Harper
Trail, Rossland advocates commemorate lives lost to opioid crisis

Wednesday marks five years since B.C. declared the opioid crisis a provincial health emergency.

”Societies that allow the voices of dissent to be silenced cannot call themselves democratic,” writes Dave Carter. Photo: Brian Wangenheim on Unsplash
Letter: The dangers of censorship

Letters to the Editor can be emailed to editor@trailtimes.ca

On April 6, Pacific Coastal Airlines marked 15 years of providing air service at the Trail Regional Airport. Photo: Twitter @PacificCoastal
Carrier celebrates 15 years at Trail airport

Pacific Coastal Airlines has adopted additional safety measures during the pandemic.

A person receives a COVID-19 vaccine at a vaccination clinic run by Vancouver Coastal Health, in Richmond, B.C., Saturday, April 10, 2021. THE CANADIAN PRESS
B.C. sees 873 more COVID-19 cases Tuesday, decline continues

Hospitalizations up to 377, two more deaths for 1,515 total

B.C. Premier John Horgan speaks at the B.C. legislature. (B.C. government)
Tougher COVID-19 restrictions in B.C., including travel, still ‘on the table’: Horgan

John Horgan says travel restrictions will be discussed Wednesday by the provincial cabinet

Protesters occupied a road leading to Fairy Creek Watershed near Port Renfrew. (Submitted photo)
B.C. First Nation says logging activist interference not welcome at Fairy Creek

Vancouver Island’s Pacheedaht concerned about increasing polarization over forestry activities

Flow Academy is not accepting membership applications from anybody who has received a dose of the vaccine, according to a password-protected membership application form. (Submitted image)
B.C. martial arts gym refusing patrons who have been vaccinated, wear masks

Interior Health has already issued a ticket to Flow Academy for non-compliance with public health orders

Guinevere, lovingly referred to by Jackee Sullivan and her family as Gwenny, is in need of a gynecological surgery. The family is raising money to help offset the cost of the procedure. (Jackee Sullivan/Special to Langley Advance Times)
Langley lizard’s owners raise funds for gynecological surgery

The young reptile is scheduled for operation on Tuesday

Facebook screenshot of the sea lion on Holberg Road. (Greg Clarke Facebook video)
VIDEO: Sea lion randomly spotted on remote B.C. logging road

Greg Clarke was driving home on the Holberg Road April 12, when he saw a large sea lion.

Defence counsel for the accused entered two not guilty pleas by phone to Grand Forks Provincial Court Tuesday, Jan. 12. File photo
B.C. seafood company owner fined $25K for eating receipt, obstructing DFO inspection

Richmond company Tenshi Seafood is facing $75,000 in fines as decided March 4 by a provincial court judge

B.C. Finance Minister Selina Robinson speaks in the B.C. legislature, March 2, 2021. (Hansard TV)
B.C. NDP ministers defend ‘air tax,’ latest COVID-19 business aid

Empty home tax doesn’t apply to businesses, but space above them

In Ontario, COVID-19 vaccine clinics have been set up at local mosques. (Submitted photo: Rufaida Mohammed)
Getting the vaccine does not break your fast, says Muslim COVID-19 task force

Muslim community ‘strongly’ encouraging people to get their shot, whether or not during Ramadan

Most Read