All star nods for Smiley and Jacklin

When Kiefer Smiley and Scott Jacklin were named co-MVPs at the Trail Smoke Eaters annual awards banquet last Wednesday, they were just confirming what the rest of the BCHL already knew.On Friday, the duo was named to the BCHL’s Interior Conference first all-star team.Smiley, who posted a 2.83 goals against average and helped Trail set a new franchise low in goals against this season, was the pick between the pipes for the Interior squad.Jacklin, who led Trail with 73 points in 51 games and secured a U.S. college scholarship, was joined up front by Westside’s Alex Grieve and Salmon Arm Silverbacks late-season acquisition Mike Hammond.The defence features standout Joey Laleggia of the Penticton Vees along with Malcolm Lyles of the Vernon Vipers.The Powell River Kings dominated the Coastal Conference team. Goaltender Michael Garteig, defenceman Justin Dasilva and forwards Matt Garbowsky and Chad Niddery gave the Kings four of the six spots.Rounding out the Coastal contingent were Brad McGowan, a forward from Surrey and Nanaimo Clippers defenceman Graeme McCormack.