Big game award winners honoured

The Big Game Trophy Association had another wildly successful night at its 56th Big Game Awards banquet Saturday.

The Big Game Trophy Association had another wildly successful night at its 56th Big Game Awards banquet Saturday at the Cominco Arena.

The evening attracted over 300 wildlife and outdoor enthusiasts, and honoured hunters and conservation groups for their success in the field the past season.

Most notably, the Trail Wildlife Association honoured Teck Metals with the Pat Archibald Trophy, given to an individual, group, or company that works to protect, enhance, and promote the environment for the benefit of present and future generations.

Teck donated $1 million towards the purchase of the Ft. Shepherd Land Conservancy, and an additional $400,000 to the environment fund to enhance wildlife in the Conservancy.

Teck has also been an invaluable corporate citizen planting approximately 1-million tree seedlings, and financing the Columbia River greening project completed in 2009.

In the junior hunter category, Garrett Angerelli took home the Championship plaque for his first-place 17 14/16th black bear, while Brett Mengler was a double-award winner for his cougar (12 7/16th) and typical (117) whitetail deer.

Cam Sbitney’s non-typical whitetail wowed the crowd and garnered top prize with an incredible 140 5/8th, and Mat Thomas received first place for his typical mule deer, 115 1/8th.

Tyson Angerilli received top honours for his mountain goat scoring 40 3/8th, while his wild turkey came in at 36 1/4. Perry S. Thompson won the largest bison award with a 90.

Junior anglers were also recognized this year, with Kyle Bartsoff netting the largest bull trout award with a 15-pound, nine-ounce lunker, while Rory Bond picked up the largest lake rainbow, weighing in at 15-pounds four ounces, and Collin Beetlestone captured first prize in the river rainbow category for a very respectable two-pound 10-once rainbow.

In the senior category, Jason Langman claimed the Championship Cup and the  Commander trophy for the highest non-typical elk with one of the highest scoring animals on the trophy at 373 1/8th.

The female grand aggregate went to Dawn Dalla Lana for her prize-winning northern moose (186). Bernie Kosiansic took home the black bear trophy for his  18 11/16 bear, while Adam Colussi’s 21 4/16 grizzly won the top award in that category. Jesse Mengler scored top typical elk honours with a 332 1/8 as well as getting the top-scoring cougar with a 14 9/16. Charlie Farn also grabbed two top categories with his typical whitetail, 138 7/8 and wolf, 15 3/16.

Other winners included:  Marty Thomas typical mule deer, 167 2/8; Dennis Venturini, non-typical mule deer, 182 4/8; Brian Jack, Kootenay moose, 141; Timothy Adrian, stones sheep, 156 1/8; Dwayne D’Andrea, turkey, 40 2/8; Mike Bond, out of province whitetail, 152 3/8; and Jeff Bond for his 21 pound, three ounce rainbow trout.