Rubberhead: BC Enduro Series rips it up at Red

Mountain bike riders of all ages ripped it up in Rossland’s Rubberhead Enduro Race on Sunday.

Spectators at Red Mountain were treated to an exciting Sunday as mountain bike riders of all ages ripped it up in Rossland’s Rubberhead Enduro Race.

With $1,000 in cash and a plethora of prizes up for grabs, riders strapped on their helmets, mounted their mountain bikes, and took off down Larch Ridge trail to reach the first of five stages in the Enduro Race, which is in its seventh year of the Kootenay-Rockies and BC Enduro Series.

The racers plunged down five different stages of the race that were primarily downhill. However, the transition stages took some time, as the top racers finished with times just over 20 minutes, it took three-to-five hours to get through the entire course.

The challenging aspect of the enduro is to avoid depleting the gas tank peddling up between stages to a point that it affects your time and performance coming down.

“It’s an exciting format,” said Ryan Kuhn, the race’s director.  “It’s really, really popular. It’s a very social format of racing. So people ride up with their friends in between stages.”

Spectators enjoyed a barbeque and performance by the Foggy Goggle Boys on the Red Mountain Resort deck, where they watched as the racers came flying in to finish the last stage of the course.


When the dust settled Stu Dickson won the Pro/Elite Men’s division in a time of 20:21, improving on a sixth place finish in last year’s race. David Harder and Dustin Adams tied for second finishing just two seconds behind Dickson, while James Rennie finished third in 20:29.

In the Men’s Open  Craig Wilson claimed first in 21:20, while Josh Solman, 21:33, and Quentin Emerlau, 21:41, captured second and third respectively.

Leonie Picton took top spot in the Women’s Open category in a time of 23:57, followed by Kylie Morin, 25:11, and Amy Pryse-Phillips, 25:22.

Frith Murray topped the podium in the Master 40+ Men class in 21:48, with Leon May coming second, 21:56, and Kuhn third, 21:59.

In Junior U19 Men, Evan Wall had a combined time of 21:11 to take top spot, with Carter Krasny, 23:10, racing to second and Noah Van Der Watt, 23:32, third. In U15 Junior Men, Ruben Guibert nabbed top spot in 21:34, while Seven Summits Gravity rider Keegan Fry claimed second in 21:42 and Felix Abraham captured third spot in 21:46.

In the Short Course U19, Jeremy Helly blasted to a first place finish in 16:39, Blaise Swain claimed second in 18:16, and Jaelinn Farmer came third in 21:19.

Kate Nesbitt took top honours in Short Course Open Women racing to a time of 18:46, while Jaya Gulbert finished second in 19:35, and Lindsau Harrison third in 21:10. In the Short Course open Men Josh Swain took top spot in 17:13.

With files from Chelsea Novak Rossland News.

Just Posted

Tuesday’s Lotto Max draw went unclaimed. (Photo courtesy of BCLC)
Tuesday’s Lotto Max draw went unclaimed. (Photo courtesy of BCLC)
Lotto Max jackpot goes unclaimed again

42 of the 64 Maxmillion prizes of $1 million were won, the majority were sold in Ontario

A cougar, or cougars, went on a killing rampage at a small Fruitvale farm. Photo: Thomas S. on Unsplash
Cougar euthanized after taking out small animal farm in Fruitvale

Wildlife interactions, poachers or polluters should be reported to RAPP at 1.877.952.7277

The Trail Smoke Eaters will open the 2021 season on Oct. 8 against the Cranbrook Bucks in Cranbrook, and will have their home opener the next night against the same Bucks. Photo: Jack Murray
BC Hockey League announces 54-game schedule to begin in October

Trail Smoke Eaters open season with home-and-home series versus Cranbrook Bucks

“The Spirit of Family” enhances the Beaver Valley both in the daytime and at night. Photo: Submitted
Family sculpture installed at the Fruitvale Memorial Hall

Locals are encouraged to swing by Fruitvale Memorial Hall to take a… Continue reading

In 1927, swimmers enjoyed a day in the water at the CGIT and CSET Camp in Summerland. While none of the people in this photograph have smart phones, there is some debate about whether a beach image from the United Kingdom in 1943 shows a man using a smart phone. (Photograph courtesy of the Summerland Museum)
COLUMN: The mystery of the time-travelling tourist

Was the man in a 1943 photograph checking his smart phone?

People watch a car burn during a riot following game 7 of the NHL Stanley Cup final in downtown Vancouver, B.C., in this June 15, 2011 photo. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Geoff Howe
10 years ago: Where were you during the 2011 Vancouver Stanley Cup Riots?

Smashed-in storefronts, looting, garbage can fires and overturned cars some of the damage remembered today

(Black Press Media file)
Dirty money: Canadian currency the most germ-filled in the world, survey suggests

Canadian plastic currency was found to contain 209 bacterial cultures

(pixabay file shot)
B.C. ombudsperson labels youth confinement in jail ‘unsafe,’ calls for changes

Review states a maximum of 22 hours for youth, aged 12 from to 17, to be placed in solitary

Grace (left), a caribou that was born in a maternal pen north of Revelstoke, is alive and well said the province. It appears she even has a calf. Maternity pens aim to increase caribou calf survival by protecting them from predation until they are older and less vulnerable. (Contributed)
For the first time in years, caribou numbers increasing near Revelstoke

North herd growing but south herd still concerning

Eleonore Alamillo-Laberge, 6, reads a book in Ottawa on Monday, June 12, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Parents will need to fight ‘COVID learning slump’ over summer: B.C. literacy experts

Parents who play an active role in educating their children this summer can reverse the slump by nearly 80%, says Janet Mort

Kelowna General Hospital. (File photo)
COVID-19 outbreak at Kelowna General Hospital declared over

Three people tested positive for the virus — two patients and one staff — one of whom died

The border crossing on Highway 11 in Abbotsford heading south (file)
Western premiers call for clarity, timelines on international travel, reopening rules

Trudeau has called Thursday meeting, premiers say they expect to leave that meeting with a plan

The B.C. government’s vaccine booking website is busy processing second-dose appointments, with more than 76 per cent of adults having received a first dose. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
B.C.’s COVID-19 infections, hospitalizations stable for Tuesday

108 new confirmed cases, 139 in hospital, 39 in intensive care

Most Read