Skip to content

Trail woman inducted into Kamloops Hall of Fame

A Trail woman and her teammates have been inducted into the Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame, a rare honour for a rare accomplishment that happened almost 25 years ago.

Better known locally as Trail Curling Club’s ice technician, Georgina Jamieson played on the Kami Inn Capitals women’s fastball team that won the 1986 B.C. fastball championship.

The feat was unprecedented at the time and in the years since, no Kamloops team has repeated it.

Prior to the provincial championship, the team had gone 34 and 0, but during the competition they lost to the Victoria Breakers to send them to the ‘B’ side of round robin play.

“We had to beat the Breakers two times in the end to win the provincials,” said Jamieson. “I can’t remember all the details but that’s what we recollected.”

The hurler pitched the final two games, winning both and was named the tournament MVP.

She and her husband attended the awards and induction banquet in Kamloops two weeks ago, reminiscing with her teammates and sharing the spotlight with four individual inductees.

Jamieson played for the team for three years in the mid-80s, commuting from her residence in Creston where she was recreation director, to practice and play in tournaments throughout the province.

“We had a pretty strong team, we probably played every weekend from the long weekend in May right through to the provincials.”

Known for her outstanding athletic history played high school basketball, volleyball and track at J. L. Crowe and received a fastball scholarship to Eastern Washington University where she graduated with a recreation degree.

In 1986 the team was recognized as Kamloops sports team of the year, qualifying them for the more recent honour.

It was a recognition that Jamieson wasn’t expecting and the humble hall of famer continues to down play.

“It was nice,” she said, “ But I was trying to keep it to myself.”

Inductees into the Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame are nominated then chosen by the Kamloops Sports Council that has inducted 78 individuals and 16 teams since 1990.

Jim Bailey

About the Author: Jim Bailey

Read more